Tasting Note: French Valley Cabernet Franc-Merlot

I visited French Valley during my second trip to Traverse City.  They have a really nice, spacious, comfortable tasting room that I wish I’d had time to lounge in.

As you all know, I’m a huge Cabernet Franc fan, so this bottle was definitely something I had to put into my trunk.

French Valley Vineyards Cabernet Franc-Merlot (2012) Leelanau Peninsual, MI – $30

Color: medium garnet red.

Aroma: oak, earth, and a dusty red-wine nose, then red fruit as it opens up.

Taste: plums and red fruit on the front, then some black pepper and spice through the mid-palate. A hint of more sweetish fruit on the finish, and the tannins are soft. Drink this now. After about 30 minutes, there are some anise notes present as well.

A nice bottle, but I think I got it 6 months to a year late – I would have like a little more chewy tannic character.

 

Leave a Reply

